Visit Forest County Tourism Division

Tourism Promotion Grants

Visit Forest County Tourism Division established a program that encourage and promote the expansion of tourism in Forest County, which is funded by room tax revenue in 11 of our Municipalities.

The VFC-TD will consider funding requests which clearly show benefits to Forest County in the following categories: Economic Development, Tourism, Destination Development, and Special Community Events or Projects which enhance the quality of life.

All room tax funding recipients must comply with all federal, state and local regulations regarding nondiscrimination and operate within the affirmative action policy. Advertising funds must be spent on attracting and creating overnight stays, i.e., “heads in beds”. Overnight stays general infers that advertising be done outside of Forest County, reaching visitors traveling more than 60 to 75 miles.

The VFC-TD established this program to encourage and promote the expansion of tourism in Forest County. Area groups and organizations that hold events within the municipalities which have room tax in place are eligible to apply. This includes:

  • City of Crandon
  • Town of Hiles
  • Town of Laona
  • Town of Lincoln
  • Town of Nashville
  • Town of Wabeno
  • Town of Alvin
  • Town of Ross (Newald)
  • Town of Caswell (Cavour)
  • Town of Blackwell
  • Town of Armstrong Creek
  • Town of Argonne

Applications are reviewed as needed at the Visit Forest County Executive Board meetings.

Eligible events must have regional appeal and attract visitors from outside the local area, with the goal of creating revenue through overnight stays. Advertising must be targeted outside of Forest County.

It is suggested that Applicants disclose their advertising plan, budget and source of funding to be considered.

The Forest County Tourism Commission will only consider applications that are fully completed, and reserves the right to modify or deny requests, with either full or parcel amounts requested. 

Events selected will be notified of the award, and will be required to complete a short follow-up form and provide supporting information following the event. Reimbursement will be issued promptly following receipt of these items.

Awarded Projects and Events